Feature Image

Club Notes 11th December 2023

December 12, 2023 140 Views

Our Senior Men qualified for our sixth O'Donoghue Cup final in twenty years after eventually getting the better of a game Kilcummin side. The game ,played at Fitzgerald Stadium, was in the eye of Storm Fergus with a gale force wind blowing down towards the dressing room goal. Kilcummin had the benefit of the conditions in the first half but points from Ryan O'Grady and a brace from Peter McCarthy had us 0-3 to 0-1 in front after eight minutes. Kilcummin eventually settled into the conditions and despite another point for James O Donoghue we were in arrears by one point heading towards half time. A late point from Eoghan O Sullivan made it 0-5 each  as the teams headed for some respite from the weather. The wind grew stronger in the second half but Kilcummin made an assured start, clipping over a free to go one clear, 0-6 to 0-5. After a few unsuccessful forays into the Kilcummin half, Finbarr Murphy regained parity with ten minutes on the clock. Substitute Will Shine stole forward to put us one clear with Jameso adding another as the clock ticked towards 60 minutes. To be fair to Kilcummin they battled to the very end, meaning our defence had to be on our toes. Thankfully they were  and after five minutes of overtime referee Brendan Brosnan blew the whistle for the final time. Final Score Killarney Legion 0-8 Kilcummin 0-6.
Team.. Brian Kelly, Peter O Sullivan, Danny Sheahan, Rob Leen, Darragh O Doherty(Capt), Jonathan Lyne, Cian Gammell, Padraig Lucey, Jamie Alade, Finbarr Murphy(0-1), Darragh Lyne, Eoghan O Sullivan(0-1), Peter McCarthy(0-2), James O Donoghue(0-2), Ryan O Grady(0-1)
Subs..... Will Shine(0-1), Jamie O Sullivan, David O Sullivan,  Darragh Fleming, Shaun Keane
The final is pencilled in for Sunday December 17th at 2pm in Fitzgerald Stadium, where our opponents will be Dr Crokes, who defeated Spa in the other semi final on Saturday.

A well attended AGM was held in the Randles Court Hotel last night. David Randles chaired a comprehensive review of the clubs activities this year and paid tribute to all those who undertook various roles from officers to coaches to all the various sub committee members. He paid particular tribute to Lara O Brien  for her role as Club Secretary as Lara is stepping down . Denise Fogarty was welcomed back into the fold, having previously served in the same position for four years.
The Club finances were also discussed with particular emphasis on a renewed effort to fundraise. With our facilities upgraded in recent years it comes with an increased maintenance cost . The ever busy Field and Facilities committee were rightly lauded for their efforts in keeping our playing surfaces in top conditions and everyone from grass cutters to pitch liners were suitably praised.
Donal O Leary gave a comprehensive round up of the Club Juvenile activities and with over a dozen teams between boys and girls it certainly is a busy department. The need to recruit new members and retain existing ones is of course of the utmost importance and all club members are being urged to pay their part on that count. A sub committee will also be established to research, review and survey areas of strength and weaknesses within the club. This process will commence shortly with the hope of being up and running by early 2024.
The following will serve as officers for the year ahead.
President.. Tommy Regan
Vice Presidents... Noel Wade, Donie Fleming, Joan Culloty, Joan Fogarty, Johnny Culloty, Mary Regan, Sean O Grady, Jimmy O Leary.
 Chairman Dave Randles
Secretary Denise Fogarty
Vice Chairman Liam McGuire
Treasurer John Foran
Registrar Fiona Ni Chonchubhair
PRO Enda Walshe
Children's Officer Linda O Donoghue
Juvenile Chairman Donal O Leary
County Board Delegate Donal Culloty
East Kerry Board Delegate John Hegarty
Ladies Chairperson Ted Healy

Thanks to everyone who helped out at the kids party last Sunday afternoon in the International Hotel. It was great to see such a big gathering of the club members and kids having a great time. There was a great turnout and special mention for the ever busy Patricia Quigley ⁩ who painted most of the 90 faces there! DJ Jack Enright kept them all bopping on the dance floor while club snapper Maria O Sullivan captured all the excitement.  Thank you to the International Hotel for hosting us as well. And of course not to forget the man himself Santa Claus for making everyone's day.

Monday December 4th
Numbers were 20,23,26,28 Bonus No. 5.
No jackpot winner. 
Match 3s / Lucky Dips:
1.Sharon McIndoe online 
2. Raymond Furlong online 
3. Ollie Favier The Shire 
4. Jessica Keane O'Kelly's Villas 
5. Johnny O Sullivan 148 Pinewood