Feature Image

Club Notes 1st January 2024

January 02, 2024 363 Views

The Clubs new Executive for 2024 is almost complete with just a few positions to be confirmed. We wish Chairman Dave Randles the vest best of luck in the year ahead. The Club Executive is made up of the following.Chairman Dave RandlesSecretary Denise Fogarty
Vice Chairman Liam McGuire
Treasurer John Foran
Registrar Fiona Ni Chonchubhair
PRO Enda Walshe
Children's Officer Linda O Donoghue
Juvenile Chairman Donal O Leary
County Board Delegate Donal Culloty
East Kerry Board Delegate John Hegarty
Ladies Football Chairperson Ted Healy
Field and Facilities Chairman Eamon Maguire
Ladies Football Secretary Claire Duke
Ladies Player Rep Anne Marie O Sullivan
Mens Player Rep Jamie O Sullivan 
Finance Committee Chairman John Bowler
Senior Team Management Committee Chairman Diarmuid Leen
Health and Wellbeing Officer TBC
Social Committee Chair TBC
Advisor Joanne O Riordan 

It's that time of the year again when we start looking ahead to 2024 and put out a call for volunteers. With a very busy juvenile section in both boys and girls, we are asking you to help us out in any way you can. If you would like to get involved in any team at any level, please contact Donal O Leary 0868528768 for the boys section or Ted Healy 0876678315 for the girls.

The O Meara Cup returned after an hiatus taking place on Thursday December 28th. While it used to be played in various formats including Married vs Singles, this years it was rebooted with an emphasis on our younger players as well our Ladies footballers. It is fair to say that it was a huge success with close to sixty players taking part. The Ladies had two teams who took part in the fun event for a newly commissioned Ladies O Meara Cup , kindly sponsored by Michael Bernard O Donoghue. The Orla Culloty managed Orlas elves , captained by Ciara Doolan won out in the fun game against Sharon O Gradys Santa's, led by Amy Walshe. Karen Healy presented Ciara with the laurels afterwards.
There was four teams in the Mens group. With the emphasis very much on enjoyment there was some great action and questionable defending  between the Blackheads , managed by Daithi McGillycuddy and the Club President Tommy Regan,  the Greenspots cajoled by the wily Pat Moynihan, the Red Berries coached by Dave Randles and Dan Murphy leading his Peaky Blinders outfit. Cian McCann, Callum O Donoghue, Callum O Grady and Daniel Carroll were the respective captains and when all was said and done it was Callum O Donoghue who raised the cup for Pat Moynihans side. The big winner on the day was the crack and enjoyment and special thanks to everyone who helped on the day to make such a success.
There was a prize-giving afterwards with some novel category winners and thanks also to Seanie of Four Star Pizza, Eamon Maguire and Jamie O Donoghue who sponsored the prizes. 
Sean Murphy , later that night, played host to the post day conversation and all were unanimous it was a success story and a template for future runnings.

We would like to wish all our members, players, supporters and friends all the best for the year ahead.