Club Notes 18th December 2022

Club Lotto

Monday 19th December 

Numbers were: 6, 16, 17, 18

Bonus: 12

Matches 3s:

1. Paudie Conroy 

2. Mary Healy 

3. Martin O Grady

4. Deidre Meaney
5. Gene Ferris


Next draw after Christmas is Tuesday 27th December.


On behalf of the Club Executive Committee Chairman David  Randles would like to wish all our mentors, players, officers and supporters a very Happy Christmas and acknowledge each and every one for the outstanding work they do to help the club maintain and progress. 


In 2022  the Club fielded six teams in all grades namely U12, U14(where we had two teams) U16, U18 and Senior level. Our 12s entered three competitions and were winners of the South Kerry B League. They also got to the County League Division 3 C Final and the East Kerry Division 2 final. With a strong number going into 2023 it is envisaged that there will be two teams competing at this level. This group was managed by Mairead O Donoghue, Mike OSullivan, Ian Bowler, Patricia Quigley and Shelly Browne.
 Our two U14 teams were looked after by Ted Healy, Fergal Moynihan, Noelle O Toole, Donal O Leary, Shane McSweeney and Sharon O’Shea. They had a particularly busy year, winning the Non County Player County League Division 2 and finishing runners up in the Division 3 County player equivalent with the Green team. They also made the East Kerry Division 2 final. The White team which consisted of the younger members of the group predominantly saw plenty of action all year and also entered in three competitions.

The U16 year is still ongoing with Jason Stack, Enda Murphy and SHaron O Grady awaiting a fixture for an East Kerry Derby final against Dr Crokes. They also qualified for the Division 3 County League final finishing the competition as runners up.
The Minors were denied two glimpses of silverware by an excellent MKL Gaels side who got the better of them in both the County League and East Kerry finals. John Doona, Shaun O Connor, Jason Stack and Donal Hegarty put great time into a group where the majority of the panel are underage again in 2023.
John McCarthy’s time as senior manager may be over but the Club will be grateful to him and his management team of  Desiree Crowley, Mike Doody, Jason Stack, Ted Healy and Shaun O Connor who have made the team extremely competitive at Junior A level and have solidified their place in Division 2 of the Donal Curtin Cup. This group is already in training for 2023 in what promises to be a very exciting year.
Our Mothers and Others group continues to thrive with ever increasing numbers. Football with a social twist it’s proving very popular with the Wednesday night slot a constant all year.
On the county scene, a number of our Legion Ladies represented Kerry this year, namely Andrea Murphy at U16s, Aine Devlin and Chloe Hue at Minor and Kerri Ann Hanrahan and Elizabeth Mohan at senior level, who went all the way to the All-Ireland final only to come up short against a strong Meath side.
The underage District championships were completed in the latter part of the year. A number of our young Legion Ladies were involved with East Kerry teams at U13, U15 and U17 grades. Kate Fleming, Sophie Duke and Ali Bowler played with the U13 East Kerry side who won their Co Championship final , appropriately in Direen where Fergal Moynihan was part of the team management. Lucy O Connor, Aine Fitzgerald, Emily Brosnan, Lauren Carey, Leah O Grady, Laura Healy, Kiera Moynihan and Kate O Toole were all part of the U15 East Kerry side who lost out to a strong Mid Kerry side in the U15 Final. The team was managed by Ted Healy. Ciara Doolan, Emma Horan and Aine Devlin made the U17 East Kerry side and Jason Stack was part of the management. Jason has also been named on the management team for the Kerry U14s for 2023 and we wish him well in that role.
Congratulations also to Selina Looney who enters into her second year as Chairperson of the Kerry Ladies Gaelic Football Board. She deserves huge credit for the outstanding work she is doing. 
Finally a big thank you to all the coaches, parents, players and officials for your work throughout the year.