East Kerry U15 Division 1 Final Match Report


The scoreline in the end was harsh on a gallant Legion team but there would be little disputing the fact that Kenmare were the better team overall in this East Kerry U15 Division 1 League Final played in FItzgerald Stadium. But with ten points left on the clock, and the scoreboard reading 2-12 to 1-9 in Kenmare favours there was still a whiff of a chance. But three rapid fire goals put more of a gloss to it, but it shouldnt detract from what was a game and competitive Legion side.

It started well when Oisin Fleming, who accounted for 1-8 of his side’s total, opened the scoring with two points before a Kenmare goal and points raced them into the lead. It could have been more but for a fine full length save from netminder Joshua Alade.
However Kenmare then asserted their authority for the rest of the half , running up 2-8 to Legions 0-5. Legion needed a quick start to the second half and it duly arrived thanks to a point from Oisin Fleming and a cracking goal from centre forward Brian O Shea. But everytime they got within touching distance Kenmare hit a flurry of points. However by the 50th minute and still in the game Kenmare struck for those killer goals and eventually ran out winners on a 2-9 to 5-13 score.
The team and management should be very proud of their efforts so far this year. A look at the County League results would see them rank in the top 4, while runners up in East Kerry’s top Division has them nicely placed in the next year or two to progress and continue to improve through to the minor ranks.
That we are also fielding two teams at this age group is another huge positive and with the other team contesting another East Kerry final this week, there is a lot of football being played and everyone is getting plenty of game time.
Well done lads, stick with it and better days lie ahead!!
Team.. Joshua Alade, Bryan O Connor, Cian Scannell, Luke Courtney, Cillian Murphy, Ronan Fahey, Fionn O Donoghue Sheehan, Aindi O Cathasaigh, Max Coyne,  Evan Cox, Brian O Shea, Finan Blackwell, Oisin Fleming, Dara McCarthy, Mark Looney.
Sean Pierce , Tony Daly, Jack Culloty, Tom Purcell, Eli Anderson, Senan Cotter, Adam O Neill. Kevin Looney, Mark Looney, David Courtney, Eoin Murphy, Killian O Callaghan, Eoghan Prendergast, Darragh Moynihan, Declan Grimes, Matthew Hegarty, Joseph Hurley Lyne, Dara O Connor, Samuel Scroope, Jack Culloty
Management..Donal Culloty(Manager), John Keane, Donal Hegarty, Nigel Shevlin(Selectors)

(Photos courtesy of Fitzgerald Stadium Facebook)