Minor Ladies March on to County Final

The Minor Ladies will meet Listowel Emmets or MKL Gaels in the County League final following tonight’s hard earned but ultimately deserved victory over close rivals and always competitive Kilcummin side. The two sides have a history that goes to their younger juvenile days and there is never much in the game, regardless of the scoreline.

Played in Direen, the home side got off to a flyer with a Chloe Hue goal and points from Orianne McGillicuddy and Aine Devlin before Kilcummin broke through for their own goal. Becci Fleming and Caelyn O Grady slipped over a point a piece but the rest of the first half belonged to Kilcummin as they struck for four points on the trot with Aine Devlins point being the sole reply. That left the half time score at 1-5 to 1-4 in Legions favour.
Kilcummin were quick out of the traps in the second half hitting an early equaliser but Aine Devlin stole in for a goal and points by Becci Fleming and Orianne McGillicuddy stretched the lead out to five. Again Kilcummin struck for a goal, followed up by a swift point and again the gap was down to one. Andrea Murphy, slightly under the weather, was reintroduced in the second half to great effect kicking two points to give the home side some breathing space. This had the desired response as Aine Devlin(2), Chloe Hue(2) and Caelyn O Grady kicked further points. The last word was left to Caelyn O Grady as she struck for another goal which ensured the teams passage to the final.
A very productive second half of scoring but the credit must also go to the defence which was outstanding in that period, snuffing out the Kilcummin attack with great support from the midfielders. So a final beckons for the Minor Ladies who will look forward to training in the week ahead. 
Opposition, time, date and venue to be confirmed.
Team.. 1. Amy Walshe 2. Ciara O Neill 3. Ciara Doolan 4. Ally Casey 5. Grace O Connor 6. Eabha Stacks 7. Aisling Cahill 8. Lucy Spellman 9. Orianne McGillicuddy 10. Amy Doyle 11. Chloe Hue 12. Andrea Murphy 13. Becci Fleming 14. Aine Devlin 15. Caelyn O Grady 
16. Emily Brosnan 17. Evie Fahy 18. Elle Coffey 19. Emma Horan